Pride Sweep Inaugural NWHL Awards

DURHAM, NH— The first NWHL Awards, held online from the campus of the University of New Hampshire, were a sweep for the Boston Pride in every category. Votes collected from players, writers, and fans helped determine the winners for the awards, which were announced via social media on Sunday afternoon.

Here are your 2015-16 NWHL Award winners:

Regular Season Champions - The Boston Pride
Awarded to the team with the best record during the regular season.

Leading Scorer - Hilary Knight
Awarded to the player with the most points in the regular season.

NWHL Foundation Award - Denna Laing
Awarded to the player most actively applying the core values of hockey to her community as well as growing and improving hockey culture.

Nominees for this award were chosen by the NWHLPA and included Tatiana Rafter (BUF), Anya Battaglino (CTW), and Jenny Scrivens (NYR). The overall winner was chosen by a fan vote.

NWHL Best Defenseman - Gigi Marvin
Awarded to the defenseman who most excels at her position.

NWHL Best Goaltender - Brittany Ott
Awarded to the goaltender who most excels at her position.

Both of these awards were chosen by the NWHL Writers' Group from a league-selected ballot that included representatives from all four teams.

Perseverance Award - Denna Laing
Awarded to the player who most exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to her sport.

This award was chosen by a write-in vote by the NWHL Writers' Group, which consists of almost 50 reporters from outlets such as Sports Illustrated, NBC Sports, Yahoo! Sports, Boston Magazine, and the New York Times.

NWHL MVP - Brianna Decker
Awarded to the player considered most valuable to her team.

The MVP was chosen by the NWHLPA via a write-in vote. Kelley Steadman (BUF), Emily Pfalzer (BUF), and Hilary Knight (BOS) were the three runners up.